REYTA Finalist Just Beverley shortlisted nominee o2 community publication award 2017
All Winners on Stage 2

BBC and ITV honoured at O2 Awards …as Hull Daily Mail recaptures O2 newspaper crown

ITV Calendar and BBC Look North were honoured by the family of murdered MP Jo Cox at the O2 Media Awards Yorkshire 2017.

Both editorial teams received awards for Outstanding Journalism for their combined broadcast to commemmorate the MP’s death. It was the first in 49 years that the teams had worked collaboratively on a programme.

ITV’s Christine Talbot and BBC Look North Editor Tim Smith received the award from Jo’s mother and father, Gordon and Jean Leadbeater, and sister Kim.

“The Yorkshire press should be praised for their professional way they did their job. They scooped us up and treated us with care and sensitivity. Both ITV Calendar and BBC Look North were superb,” said Kim.

Yorkshire victims of the Manchester Arena suicide bomber, Salman Abedi, also paid tribute to the work of regional journalists. Teenager Kim Senior, whose image appeared around the world in the wake of the attack, presented the News Reporter of the Year trophy to joint winners, Kevin Shoesmith of the Hull Daily Mail and Rob Waugh of the Yorkshire Post.

The Hull Daily Mail was named Best Daily and the Whitby Gazette Best Weekly newspaper. Best Magazine went to the Yorkshire Post’s Country Week. The Post also won Most Memorable Print story of the year and Yorkshire Evening Post staffer Phil Hay named Best Sports Reporter.

More than 200 journalists and media executives attended the awards in Leeds hosted by BBC Breakfast’s Louise Minchin.

The O2 Media Awards are the biggest regional media awards in the UK.

“The O2 Awards celebrate the very best of media talent across Yorkshire and this year the standard has been exceptional,” said Nicola Green, Director of Communications & Reputation at O2.

Broadcasters Selina Scott and Alistair Stewart announced award winners alongside members of the Yorkshire public who had featured in the media through the year.

Guests also included Jenny Newby and Lee Riley, the Hull based stars of Channel 4’s hit show Gogglebox and Laura Norton and Isabel Hodgins of ITV’s Emmerdale.

O2 Media Awards Yorkshire and The Humber 2017 Winners

Image of the Year (Still photography)

Winner - Jon Corken Grimsby Evening Telegraph

Highly commended

Tony Johnson – Yorkshire Post

James Hardisty – Yorkshire Post

Image of the Year (Moving pictures)

Winner - Joe Bilton – BBC Look North (East Yorkshire & Lincolnshire)

Highly Commended

Sophie Kitching – Hull Daily Mail

Mike Newton – ITV Calendar

Best Writer

Winner - Ian McMillan – The Dalesman

Highly Commended

Kevin Shoesmith – Hull Daily Mail

Tony Earnshaw – Yorkshire Post

Roberta Mothersdale – The Dalesman

Helen Meade – Bradford Telegraph & Argus

Young Journalist

Winner - Ali Fortescue – BBC Look North (Yorkshire)

Highly Commended

Sam Jones – Whitby Gazette

Ben Blosse – Hull Daily Mail

Kristian Johnson – Made In Leeds

Ben Bason – Hallam FM

Broadcast Presenter (Radio)

Winner - David Burns – BBC Radio Humberside

Highly Commended

Toby Foster – BBC Radio Sheffield

Nick Ahad – BBC Radio Leeds

Andrew Edwards – BBC Radio Leeds

Broadcast Presenter (TV)

Winner - Peter Levy – BBC Look North (East Yorkshire and Lincolnshire)

Highly commended

Owain Wyn Evans – BBC Look North

Kerry Maule – Made In Leeds

Amy Garcia – BBC Look North (Yorkshire)

TV Journalist

Winner - Caroline Bilton – BBC Look North (East Yorkshire & Lincolnshire)

Highly Commended

Gaggan Sabherwal – BBC Yorkshire

Mark Kilescz-Levine – Made In Leeds

James Vincent – BBC Look North (Yorkshire)

Best Team

Winner - Made In Leeds

Highly Commended

Global Radio (Yorkshire)

ITV Calendar KOS bureau

BBC Impact Team

Johnston Press Investigations Team

News Reporter (Print)

Winner (Joint) Rob Waugh, Yorkshire Post & Kevin Shoesmith, Hull Daily Mail

Highly Commended

Rob Parsons – Yorkshire Post

Ruby Kitchen – Yorkshire Post & Yorkshire Evening Post

News Reporter (Broadcast)

Winner - Gaggan Sabherwal – BBC Yorkshire

Highly Commended

David Rhodes – BBC Yorkshire

James Webster – ITV Calendar

Katy Austin – BBC Look North (East Yorkshire & Lincolnshire)

Most Memorable (Print)

Winner - Rob Parsons – Yorkshire Post (Battle of Orgreave)

Highly Commended

Kevin Shoesmith – Hull Daily Mail (Do I look like a terrorist?)

Yorkshire Evening Post (Jo Cox murder trial)

Most Memorable (Broadcast)

Winner (Joint) Caroline Bilton, BBC Inside Out (St William’s Child Abuse) & Jamie Coulson - BBC Look North (Yorkshire) – Living with Dementia

Highly commended

BBC Look North (Yorkshire) – Sammy’ story

Tracy Gee - BBC Radio Leeds – Period Poverty

Community Journalism

Winner - BBC Radio Humberside -  Dead Bod

Highly Commended

Yorkshire Evening Post - Speak Your Mind

Sheffield Star – Pride in Our Schools

BBC Look North – Gaggan Sabherwal Community reporting

Radio Journalist

Winner - Tracy Gee – BBC Radio Leeds

Highly Commended

Charlotte Rose – BBC Radio Sheffield

Jhangir Ahmed – BBC Radio Leeds

Rosanna Austin – Radio Aire

Best Newspaper (Daily)

Winner - Hull Daily Mail

Highly commended

Yorkshire Post

Huddersfield Examiner

Best Newspaper (Weekly)

Winner - Whitby Gazette

Highly Commended

Scarborough News

Goole Times & Selby Times

Bridlington Free Press

Sports Journalist

Winner - Phil Hay – Yorkshire Evening Post

High Commended

Rob Staton - BBC Radio Sheffield

Danny Hall - The Star, Sheffield

Dave Craven - Yorkshire Post

On-Line Journalism

Winner - BBC Hull 2017

Highly Commended

Abigail Davies – BBC Radio York

Huddersfield Daily Examiner

Hull Daily Mail

On-Line Journalist

Winner - Graham Walker – Johnston Press

Community Publication

Winner - Down Your Way – The Dalesman

Highly Commended

Just Beverley

The Gryphon

Bridlington Free Press

Best Magazine

Winner - Country Week – Yorkshire Post

Highly Commended

The Magazine – Yorkshire Post

The Dalesman

The Journal - Hull Daily Mail

O2 Stand Out Award

Winner - Kerry Maule, Made In Leeds

Highly Commended

Kofi Smiles – BBC Hull 2017

Owain Wyn Evans – BBC Look North

Best TV Programme (News & Factual)

Winner - True North – Mystery of the Man on the Moor

Highly Commended

BBC Yorkshire - Tornado

BBC Yorkshire & Lincolnshire (Hull 2017 UK City of Culture)


Best Radio Programme

Winner - BBC Radio Sheffield – Steve White – The Magic of John Sullivan

Highly Commended

Jonny I’Anson, BBC Radio Leeds - Bare Knuckle Boxing

Global Radio Yorkshire - Man Down

Steve Bailey, BBC Radio Sheffield - Eczema: More than skin deep

Tom Ingall, BBC Radio Sheffield - Women of Steel

O2 Judges’ Media Award for Journalism

BBC Look North & ITV Calendar




O2 Awards 2017 (17)O2 Awards 2017 (21)O2 Awards 2017 (1)

Latest from News

The Beverley Festival of Christmas to return this year

The Beverley Festival of Christmas to return this year

One of the leading Christmas market events in the UK returns to Beverley on Sunday, 12 December with The Beverley Festival of Christmas 2021, proudly sponsored by The Beverley Arms.  The festi...
New baby llama born at Sewerby Zoo

New baby llama born at Sewerby Zoo

The team at the zoo at Sewerby Hall and Gardens are very pleased to announce the birth of a new female Llama Cria, born on September 16 at around 11.15am. Both the baby and her mum Gladys are doing...
A treat fit for any Ploughman

A treat fit for any Ploughman

Following the successful launch of our traditional Afternoon Tea in August, Bentley's Coffee Shop have a little something for those of you that don’t have a sweet tooth! Fo...